Last Updated 13 | 10 | 2012 at 11:00

Lifestyle / Culture Cafe

Winners of the 2012 EU Prize for Literature announced

Article By: news

The winners of the 2012 European Union Prize for Literature were announced at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The EU Prize, which was launched in 2009, recognises emerging authors within the European Union.

This year’s winners are Anna Kim from Austria, Lada Zigo from Croatia, Viktor Horvath from Hungary, Kevin Barry from Ireland, Emanuele Trevi from Italy, Giedra Radvilaviciute from Lithuania, Gunstein Bakke from Norway, Piotr Pazinski from Poland, Alfonso Cruz from Portugal, Jana Benova from Slovakia and Sara Mannheimer from Sweden.

Each winner received €5,000 and funding by the EU Culture Programme to get their book translated into the other EU languages.

European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth Androulla Vassiliou said that he hopes the prize will increase the writers’ visibility and renown, both in their country and in other EU countries. He went on to say that ensuring literature to cross borders means more choice for readers, and it enhances cultural diversity at the same time.

37 countries, 27 EU member states as well as Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Turkey, are eligible for the prize.

National juries from a third of the countries nominate winner authors on an annual basis, so that every country is represented over a three-year timeframe.

The award winning ceremony for this year’s winners will take place in Brussels on November 22.

The Prize is organised by the European Commission, the European Booksellers' Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers.

Please sign in or register to post comments.